Two Talents

Faith-based expressions of a Christian.

What would Jesus do?

leave a comment »

What a wonderful weekend! Last Tuesday I had a badly inflammed disk in my back. Wednesday I went to the chiropractor and learned that I’d done the worst thing I could do for that on Tuesday night–I used a heating pad. So, I got one of those incredibly handy (when you need one) gel packs from him that can be microwaved for heat, or frozen for use as a cold pack. I froze it and applied it hourly all of Wednesday and Thursday. By Friday I was notably better and on Saturday the discomfort was tolerable. Plus, my parents took the kids for the weekend! So, we went out on a date last night with our best friends. In case you are wondering I had seared shrimp and scallops over angel hair pasta in a white wine Alfredo sauce. It was magnificent! The cesaer salad was very good and the cup of creamed chicken with asparagus (with portabella mushrooms) was delicious (and good for dunking the dinner rolls into as well). Plus, since this was a planned date night for us, we each got a massage from a massage therepist Saturday morning. My first-ever massage, and I now understand why people rave about them. But I digress.

The point of this post is what happened Friday night. After we’d dropped the kids off we had the house to ourselves. My mother-in-law, who lives with us, was at a meeting. I probably do not have to tell any married couple what tends to happen in such circumstances. My wife and I decided to seize the moment and bond in a way God permits married people to bond, and that’s as far as I’ll go with that. However, what is noteworthy is that while we were engaged in said bonding we heard the kitchen door open and close. Mom-in-law wasn’t due back yet so who would just walk in our home like this? I made myself presentable and headed downstairs, but before I’d gotten down the stairs I figured out who it must have been. As I entered the kitchen (which was all dark, as with the rest of the downstairs) I discovered I had guessed correctly. It was my wife’s Grandpa. He said he’d knocked, but no one answered, so he came in (he usually just comes on in when he stops by). He saw it was all dark and wondered if anyone was home. I told him I’d been upstairs with Lisa. He asked if anyone else was home and I told him the kids were with my parents and Terri was at a meeting. At this point he said if he was bothering me he could leave.

Well, I would have liked him to leave, if I am to be honest. But I thought of Christ, and how He would probably want me to be hospitable, especially to a family member. So I told him he wasn’t bothering us and engaged him in conversation. Shortly afterward Lisa emerged and made him coffee. He visited for about 45 minutes or so and then left. Lisa said she was proud of how I’d handled it. That made me feel nice, but I was most pleased that I’d allowed God to control how I behaved, rather than saying what I would have said. Or at least wanted to say.

Lisa’s Grandpa is 77 years old and has episodes of confusion. Family members have speculated it’s the early stages of Alzheimer’s Disease, or just senility/dementia. Grandpa won’t be around for a long time, presumably, so we should probably enjoy his company while we can. If I’d told him that he was in fact bothering me and could he come back another time I know that would have come back to haunt me sometime in the future, when he wasn’t around any longer. Sometimes you find yourself in a situation and you know what you want to do, but you also know it’s probably (or certainly) not what the Lord would have you do. Taking a breath and letting Him have His way isn’t easy, but when it happens you will ultimately feel better in the end. Yes, it’s partly a pride thing (“I’m glad I let Jesus have His way because that’s what He wants from me”), but it’s also knowing that you did the right thing for the One who died for you, whom you love and Who guides and protects you. If Christ lives in your heart you want to serve him well.

I’m sure there will be future events where I do not respond so well. Hopefully I’ll remember to ask myself what Jesus wants me to do and then yield to Him. Time will tell, but I trust that while I will fail Him at times, at times I will also walk with Him. That is comforting. And those times when I fail He will still love me and extend his hand to lead me.

So what would Jesus do? He might just tell me to make sure the doors are locked the next time my wife and I are home alone.

Written by Shawn

February 26, 2006 at 7:42 pm

Leave a Reply

